PCOS Facts

  • Hey Everybody! Im sorry its been so long since my last post life’s been hectic lately. But I’ll be posting more frequently now so yay!!!

OK so what I want to talk about today is PCOS. I’ve spent 15 years trying to deal with it and I’ve realized that so many people don’t even know what it is, even though its fairly common so I decided to suck it up and talk about my experiences living with PCOS.

  PCOS stands for Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome. And that basically means women who have it have many (poly) cysts on their ovaries. It is a hormonal disease/syndrome that causes women to have a high testosterone level and causes all sorts of issues.

    It sounds awful and it is! I was diagnosed with PCOS when I was Fifteen. I went to the doctor because I wasn’t having cycles every month and that doctor, and every doctor since, has said there’s nothing you can do other than lose weight and take the birth control pill until your ready to conceive. Hearing that was pretty depressing but the pill did its job regulating my cycle which was a step in the right direction at least.

The most common symptoms of PCOS are:

1. Irregular periods

2. Weight gain-and difficulty losing any weight!

3. Hirsutism-excess hair on face and body this is due to the extra male hormones

4. Acne

5.  Androgenic Alopecia-aka male patterned baldness

6. Pain- from the larger cysts and also when they rupture

Im also going to add Mood swings and Depression because they are important as well.

**Between 1 in 10 and 1 in 20 women of childbearing age have pcos**

Pcos can also cause a lot of other diseases as well. To name a few: diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, infertility, endometrial cancer, and sleep apnea.

So for me I live with ALL of the symptoms above except for irregular periods because I take the pill. But the pill unfortunately does nothing for the others. This disease really shatters your self esteem you have a thinning balding head, facial hair and I’m not just talking about a bit of a mustache its pretty bad. They have really expensive creams you can buy for the facial/body hair but a better route if you can afford it would be electrolysis since its permanent, the creams have to be used daily or it all comes back. With hair thinning and balding there are wigs of course and hair restoration like Bosley which I pricey.

Infertility was a big thing for me to get over, ever since I was a little girl I’ve wanted to have a big family. But after some deep depression I found the bright side and realized that adoption would be just as great. Not everyone becomes infertile most can have children and I may as well but I’m on the severe end. 

I have struggled with my weight since i was 15 i have a knee injury as well that doesnt help but ive had good success with weight watchers. I got off the weight watcher wagon big mistake! So I’ll keep you guys updated on my weight loss as well.

I would love to hear some of your stories about dealing with pcos. Anything that’s helped you or any questions please comment below. 

Oh I’ll be posting soon on a hair product that has been amazing in my life so keep an eye out for that, you won’t want to miss it!

And ladies if these symptoms sound familiar and you haven’t been diagnosed mention it to your doctor they can let you know if you have pcos or if it’s something else.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: BoostNBlend Review | Eat, Craft, Shop

Leave a Reply

